Abbott reappointed as chair of CICA’s board


Abbott reappointed as chair of CICA’s board

Lance Abbott, BevCap Management

Lance Abbott, the chief executive officer of BevCap Management and director of BevCap Captive Group, has been reappointed as chair of the Captive Insurance Companies Association (CICA) board of directors, having already served in that role for a year. 

Renea Louie, vice president of Pro Group Captive Management Services, was elected as vice president on the CICA board, with Nicholas Hentges, co-chief executive officer of Captive Resources, named as secretary and treasurer. 

CICA also elected Heather McClure to a three-year term. McClure is chief risk officer for OU Health, which serves multiple hospitals with over 2000 faculty and resident physicians and medical students at the Oklahoma City and Tulsa campuses. 

McClure has more than 25 years’ experience as an attorney. As chief legal officer and vice president for Academic Physicians Insurance Company, the captive insurer of the physicians’ practice and the hospital system, McClure facilitates operations of the company, advises the board of directors and directs the insurance and reinsurance programmes.

CICA also saw a number of returning board members, including: Courtney Claflin, executive director of captive programmes at the University of California, Office of the President; Colin Donovan, president at STICO Mutual Insurance Company; Deyna Feng, director captive programmes at Cummins Risk International; Fredrik Finnman, group risk manager at Sandvik Group; Erin Hackett, senior audit manager at Crowe; Steve McElhiney, senior vice president and director of reinsurance at Artex Risk Solutions, who was the previous chair before Abbott; Mary Ellen Moriarty, vice president for property and casualty at EIIA; Michael Scott, attorney at Allison & Mosby-Scott; and Michael Zuckerman, assistant professor at Temple University.

Abbott said: “The CICA board has maintained our focus on keeping the organisation strong and reconfiguring how we provide advocacy, education and networking during these rapidly changing times.”


CICA, Captive Insurance Companies Association, Lance Abbott, Renea Louie, Nicholas Hentges, Heather McClure, Academic Physicians Insurance Company, BevCap

More on this story

CICA names BevCap’s Lance Abbott as chair

Captive International