16 April 2015USA analysis

NAIC execs to participate in keynote panel

Several chief insurance regulators are set to participate in a special keynote panel presentation during the 2015 E-Reg Conference.

The panel, which takes place on April 27, 2015, will feature NAIC chief executive officer Senator Ben Nelson; Monica Lindeen, NAIC president and Montana insurance commissioner; John Huff, NAIC president-elect and Missouri insurance director; Sharon Clark, NAIC vice president and Kentucky insurance commissioner; and Stephen Robertson, Indiana insurance commissioner.

The commissioners will share their perspectives on several issues impacting the insurance industry. This includes cybersecurity, health care reform, ride-sharing, principle-based reserving, producer licensing, market regulation, interstate collaboration and international insurance issues.

On Wednesday, April 29, in addition to sessions focused on managing and assessing cybersecurity risk, a special session on cybersecurity will be presented by NAIC immediate past president and North Dakota insurance commissioner Adam Hamm.

Other sessions at the conference will focus on regulator/industry hot topics including ride-sharing, suitability, market regulation accreditation, the Terrorism Risk Insurance Act (TRIA), the National Association of Registered Agents and Brokers Reform Act (NARAB II) and the impact of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) on consumers and the industry.