13 November 2019Analysis

Captive Resources executive named chairman of the board at the National Safety Council

Andrew Johnson, executive vice president and chief risk control officer at Captive Resources, has been named as the new chairman of the board of the National Safety Council (NSC).

He succeeds Mark Vergnano, CEO and president of The Chemours Company.

Johnson has been with Captive Resources since 1992 and has been a member of the NSC board since 2012.

“I am well-versed on the important role our members play when it comes to furthering the NSC objective of eliminating preventable deaths in our lifetime. I am confident the new board members have the understanding and know-how to meaningfully contribute to the mission," he said.

NSC also named 11 new members to its board of directors, including: Paul Aasen, president of the Minnesota Safety Council; Dane Bremer, director of global business continuity, employee safety, enterprise security and business continuity for Liberty Mutual Insurance; James Connell, executive vice president and chief customer officer for Centuri Group; Kathleen Eaton, vice president of safety, building services and energy management for The Home Depot; Cheryl Gomez-Smith, director of operations excellence personnel safety and global security at Exxon Mobil; Rose McMurray, chief transportation safety advisor for FDRsafety; Travis Parsons, associate director of occupational safety and health for the Laborer's Health and Safety Fund of North America; Jane Sinclair, general counsel and company secretary for Firmenich International; Brad Thomas, president of First Transit and First Vehicle Services for FirstGroup; Chantal Trépanier, president of SIM/Cognibox; and Glenn Trout, CEO and president of VelocityEHS.

Lorraine Martin, president and CEO of the NSC, said she was eager to collaborate with the newly formed board to enhance safety on the road, at work, and in homes and communities.