1 February 2023Analysis

New Hampshire Insurance Department staff join NAIC

New Hampshire Insurance Department (NHID) has named several of its staff who have been appointed to National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) Standing Committees.

Michelle Heaton, health law and policy legal counsel, has been appointed as the Regulatory Framework (B) task force member; Christian Citarella, chief property and casualty actuary, will serve as Casualty Actuarial and Statistical (C) Task Force member; Heather Silverstein, general counsel, will be the Antifraud (D) Task Force member; and assistant commissioner Christie Rice has been appointed as the Producer Licensing (D) Task Force member.

Douglas Bartlett, director of financial regulation, meanwhile, will serve as a task force member on three committees: Accounting Practices and Procedures (E), Examination Oversight (E), and Reinsurance (E). Finally, Deputy Commissioner DJ Bettencourt will serve as the NAIC/Consumer Liaison Committee member.

“I am thrilled to see our department’s staff recognized for their expertise and contributions to the insurance industry,” said Christopher Nicolopoulos, commissioner of the NHID. “These appointments demonstrate the dedication and hard work of our team, and I am confident they will continue to make valuable contributions to the NAIC.”

“These appointments reflect the continued commitment of the New Hampshire Insurance Department to advancing the insurance industry and protecting consumers,” said Deputy Insurance Commissioner DJ Bettencourt. “The NAIC and its committees play a critical role in shaping insurance regulations and policies, and these appointments provide an opportunity for New Hampshire to play a leadership role in these efforts.”

Last month, the NAIC named its 2023 committees leadership. The chairs included Judith French, director of the Ohio Department of Insurance, chairing the Life Insurance and Annuities (A) Committee; Anita Fox, director of Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services as Health Insurance and Managed Care (B) Committee chair; and Alan McClain, commissioner of Arkansas Department of Commerce, Arkansas Insurance Department, as chair of the Property and Casualty Insurance (C) Committee.