Carolyn Fahey, executive director, Association of Insurance and Reinsurance Run-Off Companies
17 February 2021Actuarial & underwriting

AIRROC appoints new board leadership team

AIRROC, the trade association for the legacy sector, has named Bill Teich of The Hartford as the chair of its board for 2020, with AIG’s Bill Goldsmith and Betsy Mitchell of Armour Risk appointed as co-vice chairs.

Marianne Petillio of ROM Re has been named as treasurer, with Megan McHugh of Brandywine Holdings serving as the secretary of the board.

Teich, Goldsmith and Mitchell collectively serve as AIRROC’s executive committee, along with Carolyn Fahey, AIRROC’s executive director.

Five directors were elected by the AIRROC membership in the general election held at the end of 2020,

Dawn Ballin, senior vice president and head of claims for Enstar (US); Michael Fitzgerald, senior vice president of legacy management at QBE North America; Brendan McQuiggan, vice president and head of ceded reinsurance collections at Brandywine Holdings; Tom Mendralla, portfolio management lead expert at Swiss Re America Holding Corporation; and Leah Spivey, senior vice president and head of claims runoff solutions at Munich Reinsurance America will each serve a three-year term beginning January 1, 2021.

AIRROC has a 15-person board, with members serving three-year staggered terms.

More on this story

Actuarial & underwriting
17 August 2020   COVID-19 has destabilised the global economy and increased risk across all types of business. Run-off solutions can help captives better manage these risks, say Steve McElhiney of Artex and Carolyn Fahey of AIRROC.
Actuarial & underwriting
19 June 2020   The COVID-19 pandemic is set to increase the use of runoff solutions, as companies and insurers alike review their risk exposures and adapt their businesses to cope with new economic and social realities.
15 October 2019   Run-off is a corporate risk management tool giving insurers the flexibility to respond to the changing needs of its clients. It allows insurers to carve out lines or sell portfolios or entire captives, freeing them up to create new coverages, says Carolyn Fahey of the Association of Insurance and Reinsurance Run-Off Companies.